Kentucky Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching Winners

Thursday, November 21, 2019 4:44 PM | Anonymous

Two Kentucky science teachers are among 213 recipients of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching> (PAEMST), which is awarded to outstanding K-12 science and mathematics teachers from across the country. Winners are selected by a panel of distinguished scientists, mathematicians and educators following an initial selection process at the state level. The PAEMST winners in Science from Kentucky are:

Grades K-6: Kristi Fehr, Cassidy Elementary School (Fayette County)

Grades 7-12: Deborah Brock, Simon Kenton High School (Kenton County)

Winners receive a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation and are invited to Washington for a series of professional development opportunities. Awardees also join an active network of outstanding educators from throughout the nation. Since 1983, more than 5,000 teachers have been recognized for their contributions in the classroom and to their profession.

Two mathematics teachers from Kentucky also took home awards:
Grades K-6: Melanie Ramey, Highland Elementary School (Johnson County)
Grades 7-12: Erin Schneider, Atherton High School (Jefferson County)

Quick links

Follow our activities

The Kentucky Science Teachers Association is an affiliated chapter of the National Science Teaching Association
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 23918, Lexington, KY 40523
Contact Us     Website Feedback

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software